Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Laura Marling announces new album, Short Movie, shares title track — listen

on December 17, 2014, 9:20am

Laura Marling will release her fifth studio album, Short Movie, on March 24th, 2015 via Ribbon Music.

Serving as the follow-up to 2013’s Once I Was an Eagle, the 13-track effort was recorded in London with frequent collaborators Matt Ingram and Dan Cox. Additionally, Marling recruited a number of her friends to perform in her backing band, including Noah and the Whale’s Tom Hobden, cellist Ruth De Turberville, and bassist Nick Pini.

According to a press release, the album is inspired by Marling’s attempts to find a sense of stability, after permanently relocating to Los Angeles last year. She explains, “I realised that I hadn’t been in a place for longer than two or three weeks since I was 16. I thought, ‘I wonder what will happen if I try and root myself somewhere [and] look back over the past eight years.’”

To accompany today’s announcement, Marling has shared the album’s title track. Sonically, it’s the same kind of dazzling pastiche we’ve come to expect from the UK singer, who deftly blends the earnest melodies of folk with strands of ornate classical and dusty desert rock. Check out the song below via its accompanying animated video. That’s the album’s cover art above.

Short Movie Tracklist:
01. Warrior
02. False Hope
03. I Feel Your Love
04. Walk Alone
05. Strange
06. Don’t Let Me Bring You Down
07. Easy
08. Gurdjieff’s Daughter
09. Divine
10. How Can I
11. Howl At the Moon
12. Short Movie
13. Worship