Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Listen to “The Rap Monument”, the be-all and end-all of posse tracks

on December 18, 2014, 2:05pm

Earlier this month, Eminem premiered a remix for “Detroit Vs. Everybody”, effectively pushing the confines of the posse track to its outer limits by recruiting nearly 20 Motor City MCs for the 16-minute rework. Not to be outdone, Noisey has now enlisted a mind-boggling 36 rappers (!!!) for “The Rap Monument”. And yet despite the sheer number of talent, I was somehow not invited.

Spanning some 42 minutes, this album-length track features contributions from Killer Mike, Danny Brown, Raekwon, Pusha T, Action Bronson, Heems, Young Thug, Flatbush Zombies, CyHi da Prince, and many, many more (the full list below), alongside production from Hudson Mohawke, Nick Hook, and S-Type. Ignoring the sheer impressiveness of assembling practically every living rapper on Earth, the track itself is a truly wild experience, a maddening rush of near-endless wordplay and braggery supplemented by beats that hit on every sonic concept from trap to gospel and beyond. Clear a solid hour out of today’s calendar and watch the accompanying video below.

“The Rap Monument” Roster:
Pusha T
Bryant Dope
Go Dreamer
Nipsey Hussle
Danny Brown
Mayhem Lauren
Raekwon da Chef
Kilo Kish
Flatbush Zombies
Renegade El Rey
Rockie Fresh
Bodega Bamz
Remy Banks
Killer Mike
Del Harris
CyHi da Prince
Young Thug
Aston Matthews
SL Jones
Nigel Nasty
Bobby Creekwater
Action Bronson
Mike G
Yak Ballz
Zebra Katz
Alexander Spit

No comments