New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Marina and the Diamonds premiere new song “Happy” — listen

on December 12, 2014, 1:40pm

Indie pop starlet Marina Diamandis, aka Marina and the Diamonds, will return with her new album, FROOT, on April 6th via Atlantic. The 12-track effort follows 2012’s Electra Heart and is previewed today by the opening track, “Happy”.

Much like its to-the-point title, the song is a bare-bones ballad that’s quietly backed only by the delicate purr of a piano. However, its austerity serves as its greatest strength and allows the Welsh singer to convey joy and exultation on her own terms —  intimately, with much contemplation, and through the use of her emotive, porcelain-like vocals. If the album’s flashy title track is Diamandis lighting up the dance floor, confetti and all, “Happy” serves as the reflective and (much-needed) tranquil afterparty. Listen in below.

FROOT Tracklist:
01. Happy
02. Froot
03. I’m A Ruin
04. Blue
05. Forget
06. Gold
07. Can’t Pin Me Down
08. Solitaire
09. Better Than That
10. Weeds
11. Savages
12. Immortal