New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Oneohtrix Point Never shares unreleased songs “Rush” and “Bubs” — listen

on December 18, 2014, 11:10am

Since releasing his latest LP, R Plus Seven, last October, Oneohtrix Point Never mastermind Daniel Lopatin has maintained a rather prolific schedule. Not only did he tour regularly as 0PN, including a stint opening for Nine Inch Nails, but Lopatin released a number of original compositions, including “Bullet Hell Abstraction I-IV”, the RSD exclusive “Compositions I”, and a score for Koji Morimoto’s Magnetic Rose. Today, Lopatin caps off 2014 by sharing two previously unreleased tracks.

Taken from the sessions for R Plus Seven, “Rush” shares a lot of the same aesthetics: It’s an equally jarring and beautiful piece where gorgeous strings and brooding noise interact freely. On “Bubs”, Lopatin teams with PC Music producer A.G. Cook for a playful number that shifts readily between hyperactive spurts and more understated instrumentation.

(Read: Top 10 Warp Records Releases)

In an accompanying statement, Lopatin wrote, “its been a ruff year for planet earth and music sometimes feels like a slightly absurd vocation but i hope this increase joy by _%.” Stream and/or download both tracks below.

No comments