Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Smashing Pumpkins’ new album Monuments to an Elegy

on December 02, 2014, 11:47am

Smashing Pumpkins will release their first of two new albums, Monuments to an Elegy, on December 9th via Martha’s Music / BMG. In anticipation, the entire record is streaming via iTunes Radio. Listen here.

Serving as the follow-up to 2012’s Oceania, Monuments to an Elegy was recorded in Chicago with Tommy Lee playing drums. Howard Willing, who previously worked with Billy Corgan on Smashing Pumpkins’ 1998 LP Adore, served as producer.

In his review of the album, Michael Roffman called Monuments to an Elegy a “fresh chapter” for Corgan. “[Corgan]’s pretty much on his own here — guitarist Jeff Schroeder and Lee were the only other musicians in the studio this time around — and yet the album still sounds less incestuous than 2007’s Zeitgeist. He’s in a clearing, creatively speaking, and the nine tracks speak to that kind of mental release.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Monuments to an Elegy will be followed in 2015 by a second album titled Day For Night.

Monuments To An Elegy Tracklist:
01. Tiberius
02. Being Beige
03. Anaise!
04. One and All (We Are)
05. Run2Me
06. Drum + Fife
07. Monuments
08. Dorian
09. Anti-Hero

Below, revisit Rock it Out! Blog’s interview with Billy Corgan in 2012.

No comments