New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

American Wrestlers premieres new song “Kelly” — listen

on January 28, 2015, 1:50pm

American Wrestlers is the moniker of an unidentified Scottish musician who makes energetic and wonderfully lo-fi indie pop. Having recently relocated to Missouri, he’ll release a self-titled debut album on April 7th via Fat Possum Records.

To accompany today’s announcement, American Wrestlers has shared “Kelly”. Composed with a TASCAM 8-track and “the cheapest instruments on hand”, the song’s peppy arrangement and power pop vibes belie much deeper lyrical content. According to American Wrestlers, it’s about Kelly Thomas, a mentally ill homeless man who was beaten to death by California police in 2011. Listen in below.

For more from the eight-track effort, check out “I Can Do No Wrong”.

American Wrestlers Tracklist:
01. There’s No One Crying Over Me Either
02. Holy
03. Wild Yonder
04. I Can Do No Wrong
05. The Rest of You
06. Kelly
07. Cheapshot
08. Left

1 comment