Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Camper Van Beethoven shares unreleased song “Alien Ghost Song” — listen

on January 14, 2015, 1:00pm

Camper Van Beethoven is commemorating the 10th anniversary of its 2004 reunion album New Roman Times with a deluxe reissue. Due out February 24th via Omnivore Recordings, the fully remastered LP includes four unreleased songs from the album’s recording sessions: “Los Tigres Dub”, “It’s Gonna Rain”, “Might Makes Right Dub”, and “Alien Ghost Song”, the latter of which is now available for streaming.

Like much of New Roman Times, “Alien Ghost Song” is an amalgamation of sounds and ideas, with bits of pop, garage rock, folk, and jazz spun together into an understated and slightly abstract ballad. The real takeaway, however, is the lyrical content, in which the band expertly pokes fun at rampant conservatism and blind patriotism with equal parts humor and sincerity. Listen in below.

New Roman Times will be available digitally, as a single CD, and, for the first time ever, as a double LP. The set also features comprehensive liner notes penned by frontman David Lowery. Pre-orders are ongoing.

New Roman Times Tracklist:
01. Prelude
02. Sons of the New Golden West
03. 51-7
04. White Fluffy Clouds
05. That Gum You Like Is Back in Style
06. Might Makes Right
07. Militia Song
08. R ’N’ R Uzbekistan
09. Sons of the New Golden West (Reprise)
10. New Roman Times
11. The Poppies of Balmorhea
12. The Long Plastic Hallway
13. I Am Talking to This Flower
14. Come Out
15. Los Tigres Traficantes
16. I Hate This Part of Texas
17. Hippy Chix
18. Civil Disobedience
19. Discotheque CVB
20. Hey Brother
21. Los Tigres Dub *
22. Alien Ghost Song *
23. It’s Gonna Rain *
24. Might Makes Right Dub *

* = Previously unreleased bonus tracks