Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Laura Marling premieres new song “False Hope” — listen

on January 20, 2015, 3:15pm

Laura Marling describes her upcoming fifth album, Short Movie, as a kind of musical experiment, as the English singer-songwriter seeks to “root myself somewhere [and] look back over the past eight years.” The first dispatch from the 13-track LP was the title track, a dazzling ballad drenched in warm-hearted nostalgia and dusty desert rock. Today, Marling’s trip down memory lane yields far more distressing memories with “False Hope”.

Though it retains the desert rock aesthetic of its predecessor, this latest single is immensely more depressing. The wail of distant cello slowly shifts upward into a medley of upbeat guitars and steady percussion, and yet the air never clears of all that heartache and uncertainty. There are plenty of open pockets of space that abound, which Marling fills with equally mournful confessions like “Is it still okay that I don’t know how to be alone?” Listen in below.

Short Movie is due out March 24th via Ribbon Music.

Short Movie Tracklist:
01. Warrior
02. False Hope
03. I Feel Your Love
04. Walk Alone
05. Strange
06. Don’t Let Me Bring You Down
07. Easy
08. Gurdjieff’s Daughter
09. Divine
10. How Can I
11. Howl At the Moon
12. Short Movie
13. Worship