The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Sufjan Stevens announces new album Carrie & Lowell

on January 12, 2015, 10:23am

If you’re wondering what Sufjan Stevens has been up to, here’s your answer: The acclaimed songwriter and composer will return on March 31st with his first new album in five years, Carrie & Lowell.

Spanning 12 tracks, the album will see Stevens returning to his “folk roots,” according to a press release. The title is named after his mother and stepfather and, as such, themes include “life and death, love and loss, and the artist’s struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love.”

Check out the album’s trailer and tracklist below.

Carrie & Lowell Tracklist:
01. Death With Dignity
02. Should Have Known Better
03. All of Me Wants All of You
04. Drawn to the Blood
05. Fourth of July
06. The Only Thing
07. Carrie & Lowell
08. Eugene
09. John My Beloved
10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11. Blue Bucket of Gold

In related news, Stevens has contributed original music to a new documentary about the Pendleton Round-Up, an annual rodeo that takes place in Pendleton, Oregon. The film will screen at the Brooklyn Academy of Music from January 20th-25th and Stevens will be on hand to provide the live score. Watch a trailer for that project below.