The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Avett Brothers’ Seth Avett and Jessica Lea Mayfield announce Elliott Smith tribute album

on January 08, 2015, 10:00am

Seth Avett of The Avett Brothers and Jessica Lea Mayfield will pay tribute to Elliot Smith with a new tribute albumSeth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith will feature the indie folk pair covering 12 of Smith’s classics, including “Between the Bars”, “Angeles”, and “Baby Britain”.

Due March 17th from Ramseur, the album was recorded sporadically over the last three years in both the artists’ own homes and Asheville, NC’s Echo Mountain Studios. “A lot of effort had to be put in to make it happen just because we’re real busy,” Avett explained. “I think it speaks towards the importance of the project to both of us that we made the time to get it done.”

A tour behind the record is being planned for later this year. Below, check out the a promo video, which features samples of the duo’s takes on “Let’s Get Lost” and “Roman Candle”. The album’s complete tracklist follows.

Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith Tracklist:
01. Between the Bars
02. Baby Britain
03. Fond Farewell
04. Somebody That I Used to Know
05. Let’s Get Lost
06. Twilight
07. Ballad of Big Nothing
08. Angel in the Snow
09. Pitseleh
10. Angeles
11. Roman Candle
12. Memory Lane