Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Yo La Tengo shares previously unreleased song “Suspirica” — listen

on January 09, 2015, 12:30pm

Since 1999, Paul Nini has been reissuing albums from various Ohio-based punk bands through his label Old 3C Records. Now, he’s closing up shop by issuing 3C’s 50th and final release, a compilation appropriately titled Fifty@50. The 50-track album (see the trend?) is composed entirely of previously unreleased songs, all 50 seconds or less in duration, from indie acts hailing from Ohio and beyond.

In addition to appearances from Obnox, Sleepyhead, and Swearing At Motorists, the compilation features an unreleased demo from New Jersey’s own Yo La Tengo. Entitled “Suspirica”, this lo-fi jam feels more akin to noise rock than the remaining catalog, with whirring and hissing feedback taking a dominant role throughout. There’s little to hang on to in terms of an actual melody, but the obscurity of it all fits nicely into the compilation’s peculiar premise. Listen in below.

Check out the full compilation over at Bandcamp.