New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Braids announce new album, Deep In The Iris, premiere “Miniskirt” — listen

on February 10, 2015, 5:25pm

Braids, the Montreal dream pop trio led by Raphaelle Standell, are set to release their new album Deep In The Iris on April 28th through Arbutus Records. The nine-track effort serves as the band’s third to date and follows 2013’s Flourish // Perish.

Our first preview of the LP comes with “Miniskirt”, a synth-y pop number marked by jolting beats and acerbic lyrics drawn from the album’s weighty themes of “pornography, abuse, and slutshaming.” Here, Braids teem with the kind of rage and frustration that can only be articulated by a woman who’s felt snuffed by a sexist society and targeted by the leering eyes of men. “Liberated’s what you wanna call it. How about unfairly choked?” Standell sings in the opening moments of the song, adding, “I’m not a man-eater, I enjoy them like cake. But in my position I’m the slut, I’m the bitch, I’m the whore, the one you hate.” Listen in below.

Deep In The Iris Artwork:

Braids - Deep In The Iris album

Deep in the Iris Tracklist:
01. Letting Go
02. Taste
03. Blondie
04. Happy When
05. Miniskirt
06. Getting Tired
07. Sore Eyes
08. Bunny Rose
09. Warm Like Summer

No comments