Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Nada Surf’s Matthew Caws covers Kevin Devine’s “Fiscal Cliff” — listen

on February 19, 2015, 2:45pm

Singer-songwriter Kevin Devine has launched a new 7-inch series called Devinyl Splits through Bad Timing Records. Beginning with February, Devine will release a new split single every other month featuring a different guest contributor on the A-side and a new solo track on the B-side. The first entry in the series features Matthew Caws of fellow New Yorkers Nada Surf.

For this first release, Devine and Caws decided to turn in covers of each other. Caws chose to tackle “Fiscal Cliff”, from Kevin Devine & The Goddamn Band’s 2013 record Bubblegum. The Nada Surf frontman flips the script on the track, presenting the frustrated indie rock number in a far more contemplative, acoustic arrangement. Of course, Devine’s lyrics are as soured as ever, but Caws’ softer delivery turns the focus on the hopefulness concealed within. Take a listen below.

Due out February 24th, the single also feature’s Devine’s take on Nada Surf’s 2002 single “Inside of Love”. Pre-orders for the 7-inch as well as the digital version are ongoing through Bad Timing Records.

Perfect Pussy frontwoman Meredith Graves and indie outfit Tiger Jaw have been announced as featured artists on the April and June releases, respectively, with the remaining three splits to be announced in the near future. Each single will come in two physical forms: a clear pressing splattered with a random color and a solid pressing using whatever color was splattered on the subscription exclusive. A subscription to the remaining 7-inch singles is available for $30.