Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Ceremony announces new album, shares “The Separation” and “The Understanding” — listen

on March 26, 2015, 1:25pm

Photo by Shawn Brackbill

On May 19th, Ceremony will release The L-Shaped Man, the band’s first new album in three years. Due out through Matador Records, the 11-track effort serves as the hardcore outfit’s fifth to date following 2012’s excellent Zoo. The LP was produced by John Reis (Rocket from the Crypt, Drive Like Jehu), and centers around frontman Ross Farrar’s recent breakup.

WhileThe L-Shaped Man does make use of Farrar’s relationship “as a platform to explore loneliness and emotional weariness,” a press release is quick to note that it is “by no means a purely sad album.” Instead, “rather than look inward, Farrar uses his experience to write about what it means to go through something heavy and come out the other side a different person.”

“A lot of the content has to do with loss, and specifically the loss of someone who you care deeply about,” Farrar notes. “There is no way for you to go through something like this artistically and not have really strong emotions of loss and pain. There’s not really any way to hide that.”

In addition to a new lyrical direction, Ceremony has reportedly altered its punk stylings, almost completely stripping “back the propulsive hardcore of their previous records.” As our first taste of Ceremony 2.0, the band’s revealed two new songs in “The Separation” and “The Understanding”. Check out both in the accompanying video below.

The L-Shaped Man Artwork:
Ceremony new album

The L-Shaped Man Tracklist:
01. Hibernation
02. Exit Fears
03. Bleeder
04. Your Life In France
05. Your Life In America
06. The Separation
07. The Pattern
08. Root Of The World
09. The Party
10. The Bridge
11. The Understanding

No comments