New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Daughn Gibson announces new album, premieres “Shatter You Through” — listen

on March 12, 2015, 4:00pm

Singer-songwriter Daughn Gibson will release his third studio album, Carnation, on June 2nd through Sub Pop. The follow-up to 2013’s Me Moan was co-produced by Randall Dunn (Earth, Sunn O))), Tim Hecker) and recorded at Avast Studios in Seattle, Washington.

A press release describes the 11-track effort as “a high-wire balancing act, at times sexual, emotionally intense and comforting” whose lyrical content “shares a kinship with writers Raymond Carver and Donald Ray Pollack.” Meanwhile, the music itself sees Gibson exploring beyond his country music roots, its “filmic” quality paying homage to directors Tim Burton and John Waters.

As a preview, Gibson’s shared a new single called “Shatter You Through”. Quite possibly his catchiest work to date, the titillating track is marked by groovy bass, twangy guitar, and Gibson’s rich baritone. Think Elvis kickin’ it on an ’80s dance floor with Twin Shadow. Listen in below.

Carnation Artwork:

Daughn Gibson - Carnation new album

Carnation Tracklist:
01. Bled to Death
02. Heaven You Better Come In
03. Shatter You Through
04. For Every Bite
05. Daddy I Cut My Hair
06. A Rope Ain’t Enough
07. I Let Him Deal
08. Shine of the Night
09. Runaway and the Pyro
10. It Wants Everything
11. Back With the Family