Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Failure announces first new album in 19 years, premieres “Hot Traveler” — listen

on March 30, 2015, 9:50am

Last year, alt rockers Failure reunited for their first tour in 19 years. Turns out the jaunt was just part of a much larger comeback: Today, the band’s announced a brand new album, The Heart Is a Monster, the long-awaited follow-up to 1996’s Fantastic Planet. The self-produced LP spans 18 tracks and is due to arrive on June 30th through INgrooves’ INresidence.

“Trying to follow up Fantastic Planet was a bit daunting,” said vocalist/guitarist Ken Andrews in a press release. “We’ve pushed the bar upward again, but at the same time, we’ve kept the signature sound of the band intact.”

Guitarist Greg Edwards added, “Thematically we’ve moved from the outer space of Fantastic Planet to inner space. From the dislocation of one’s identity to the complete erasing of it by sleep and dreams. I think we’ve used instrumentation in the service of mood and emotion to an even greater degree than on our previous records.”

Our first taste of the new LP comes with “Hot Traveler”. Failure previously debuted the song live at SXSW, but its official studio version was premiered earlier today via BBC Radio 1’s Rock Show with Daniel P Carter. Listen in via BBC Radio 1 (scroll to the 2-hour mark).

1 comment