The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music and Film Headlines

Kendrick Lamar’s new album is called To Pimp A Butterfly, and it has pretty stunning artwork

on March 11, 2015, 8:15am

Kendrick Lamar has revealed the title and artwork for his upcoming third studio album. To Pimp A Butterfly is no doubt a play on the title of Harper Lee’s politically charged 1960 novel To Kill A Mockingbird. Meanwhile, the album artwork depicts a group of black men standing in front of the White House, holding money and alcohol, while a dead judge lies at their feet.

Update – March 12th: Kendrick has also confirmed the album’s tracklist. Spanning 16 tracks, it includes “The Blacker the Berry” and “i”.

Update – March 15th: The album features Snoop Dogg, George Clinton, Thundercat, and more.

One possible and very logical explanation via Reddit:

The cover and title say all you need to know about the album. These guys are in front of the white house and they’re holding cash, alcohol, and a little kid has his middle finger up. People are pimping this butterfly – this beautiful culture, BUT, Kendrick is saying that we are letting it happen. They’re in front of the white house, a huge symbol of freedom, and they’re ignorant enough to hold bottles while a body lays at their feet. This album is going to be super socially conscious and that makes me more excited. I bet this album is controversial. Kendrick wants the culture to change and for people to look at themselves.

We’ll find out for sure come March 23rd when To Pimp A Butterfly is officially released. The album serves as the follow-up to Kendrick’s earth-shattering 2012 LP good kid, m.A.A.d city.

kendrick pimp butterfly

To Pimp A Butterfly Tracklist:
01. Wesley’s Theory (feat. George Clinton and Thundercat)
02. For Free? (Interlude)
03. King Kunta
04. Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise and Snoop Dogg)
05. These Walls
06. U
07. Alright
08. For Sale? (Interlude)
09. Momma
10. Hood Politics
11. How Much A Dollar Cost (feat. James Fauntleroy and Ronald Isley)
12. Complexion (feat. Rapsody)
13. The Blacker The Berry
14. You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15. i
16. Mortal Man