Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Sister Sparrow & The Dirty Birds premiere new single “Mama Knows” — listen

on March 16, 2015, 1:35pm

Photo by Aviva Klein

Arleigh Kincheloe grew up high in the Catskill Mountains, but as a singer, her voice booms from deep down south. As the frontwoman of Sister Sparrow & The Dirty Birds, she’s led her soulful rock outfit through a pair of LPs, a Randy Jackson-produced EP, and runs at festivals like Bonnaroo, Hardly Strictly Bluegrass, and others. On May 19th, she and her band will return with their third full-length, The Weather Below, via Thirty Tigers/Sony RED.

Though she’s found success in the big city with her big band, Kincheloe has never lost touch with her upstate New York roots, and she lets it show on the album’s lead single “Mama Knows”. Unsurprisingly, the track was inspired by her mother, who also used to sing. In a press release, Kincheloe recalls witnessing her mom’s gigs: “She was so powerful and beautiful — just a queen in my eyes. On the flip side, she raised us to be really humble. I wanted to do something to show my appreciation to her and mothers like her everywhere.”

With a hearty blues guitar line and a rousing soul horn section, “Mama Knows” trips the light fantastic in classic southern rock fashion. There’s a touch of the gospel in the harmonized chorus, Kincheloe’s powerful vocals punching high above it all. “Don’t hit me with your stuff/ Say you got money/ You got somethin’,” she sings out, “Just hit me with love/ You ain’t got love, then you ain’t got nothing.” It’s a motherly message delivered in the warm crackle of the blues. Listen below.

“Mama Knows” goes on sale March 17th, and you can order it digitally here. Find the full The Weather Below tracklist below.

The Weather Below Tracklist:
01. Borderline
02. Sugar
03. Prison Cells
04. Mama Knows
05. Disappear
06. Don’t be Jealous
07. Every Road
08. We Need A Love
09. Cold Blooded
10. Catch Me If You Can Mix

No comments