New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Chelsea Wolfe announces new album, Abyss, premieres “Iron Moon” — listen

on April 28, 2015, 12:20pm

Chelsea Wolfe returns with a new album, Abyss, on August 7th via Sargent House. The 11-track effort follows Pain is Beauty, one of 2013’s best albums of the year, and was recorded with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Swans) in Dallas, Texas. That’s the artwork above.

According to a press release, the LP plays out like a “score” to a realm Wolfe describes as “the hazy afterlife … an inverted thunderstorm … the dark backward … the abyss of time,” and explores heady subjects of “human frailty, intimacy, quiet passion, anxiety, and deep longing.”

The experimental rocker added, “Abyss is meant to have the feeling of when you’re dreaming, and you briefly wake up, but then fall back asleep into the same dream, diving quickly into your own subconscious.”

As a preview, Wolfe’s let loose “Iron Moon”, quite possibly one of the loudest, most torrid numbers in her repertoire. With vocals ablaze and baying, and harsh, devilish riffs raining down all around her, Wolfe sounds like a true goddess of the afterlife. Listen in below (via Rolling Stone).

Abyss Tracklist:
01. Carrion Flowers
02. Iron Moon
03. Dragged Out
04. Maw
05. Grey Days
06. After the Fall
07. Crazy Love
08. Simple Death
09. Survive
10. Color of Blood
11. The Abyss

Watch an album trailer for Abyss:

1 comment