New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

METZ premiere new song “Spit You Out” — listen

on April 06, 2015, 1:49pm

Photo by Philip Cosores

On May 5th, Canadian post-punk outfit METZ will let loose new album METZ II through Sub Pop. The 10-track effort follows 2012’s self-titled debut is said to be “much heavier, darker, and sloppier,” its weightier subject matter inspired by “a year of loss and doubt, of contemplating [the band’s] relationships with death and the planet.” In anticipation, the band has unveiled the new track “Spit You Out”.

Much like lead single “Acetate”, it’s a roaring number riddled with enough lacerating guitars to split your speakers wide open. The track is “loosely based on the uncanny ability of ‘modern life’ to suck you in, beat you down, grind you up, and spit you out… disoriented, disenfranchised and wanting badly to start at the beginning again,” according to frontman Alex Edkins. Listen in below.

METZ II Tracklist:
01. Acetate
02. The Swimmer
03. Spit You Out
04. Zzyzx
05. IOU
06. Landfill
07. Nervous System
08. Wait in Line
09. Eyes Peeled
10. Kicking a Can of Worms

In support of the LP, METZ have scheduled a lengthy tour across North America and Europe, which includes stops at Levitation 2015Shaky Knees FestivalBest Kept Secret Festival, and WayHome Music & Arts Festival. They also have a few dates with FIDLAR and Lightning Bolt. Find their itinerary here.

No comments