Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Ravi Shavi announces self-titled LP, shares “Accidental” — listen

on April 20, 2015, 9:30am

Rafay Rashid just can’t sit still. When the Pakistani-born, Rhode Island-based rocker isn’t fronting Happiness with three-fifths of Deer Tick, he’s building up stacks of material with his mainstay outfit Ravi Shavi. The band has gone through numerous lineup shifts over the years, but the manic live shows and Rashid’s core have always held firm. With the quartet at last solidified — Bryan Fieldin on bass, drummer Andrew Wilmarth, Nick Politelli playing guitar — Ravi Shavi is finally ready to release its new self-titled record.

Due June 2nd from Almost Ready RecordsRavi Shavi features 10 tracks that put the band’s garage pop concoctions on prime display. Bands often work for years to try and capture their live shows’ unhinged energy with the sort of precision Ravi Shavi seem to manage with ease. Leading by way of example is well-worn live favorite “Accidental”, a nervous, catchy cut of brain-boggling goodness.

As Rashid explains it, “The song, in all its frenzy, is really about enacting a machine-like vision of an emotional collapse — it’s about removing the human skull to expose a mess of faulty brain wiring that somehow manages to stick together. It’s about connecting that exposed mess to someone else’s brain and hoping the whole thing doesn’t blow.”

Check it out below:

Ravi Shavi Tracklist:
01. Indecisions
02. Bloody Opus
03. Hobbies
04. Accidental
05. Local News
06. Amphetamine
07. Old Man
08. Problems
09. Critters
10. Vacation Holiday

No comments