Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Speedy Ortiz gets grimy on new single “Puffer” — listen

on April 02, 2015, 3:28pm

Photo by Ben Kaye

Speedy Ortiz has thus far shared two tracks from its forthcoming sophomore LP, Foil DeerFirst came the bristling “Raising the Skate”, followed by the self-deprecatingly downbeat “The Graduates”. On new single “Puffer”, the Boston indie outfit finds itself digging through a heavier, grimier sound. Guitars squiggle about in gnarly chaos before cutting through with sharp stabs during the chorus. Bass stalks darkly over everything, adding menacing weight as Sadie Dupuis delivers glowering couplets like, “Poesy in and prose again/ Let’s all be friends and make pretend,” before declaring herself “God of the Liars.” Check it out below.

Foil Deer hits retailers on April 21st via Carpark Records. Speedy Ortiz will support the release with a North American tour, and those dates can be seen here.

Foil Deer Tracklist:
01. Good Neck
02. Raising The Skate
03. The Graduates
04. Dot X
05. Homonovus
06. Puffer
07. Swell Content
08. Zig
09. My Dead Girl
10. Ginger
11. Mister Difficult
12. Dvrk Wvrld

No comments