Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Slayer announces Repentless, first album in nearly six years

on May 22, 2015, 10:40am

On September 11th, Slayer will return with their first studio album in almost six years. Due out through Nuclear Blast Records, Repentless serves as the band’s 11th LP to date following 2009’s World Painted Blood.

The long-awaited 12-track release will reportedly feature some new versions of previously released tracks, including the thrash metal rockers’ recent Record Store Day exclusive “When The Stillness Comes” and 2014’s standalone song “Implode”. “Every version of those songs you may have heard before is different, so I think that’s cool, but I also wanted them to be part of a collection,” guitarist Kerry King told Metal Hammer, adding, “I like the finality of songs belonging on a record.”

The album marks Slayer’s first full-length since the passing of guitarist Jeff Hanneman in 2013. Contrary to earlier reports, the late Hanneman does not appear on the record; however, one of his compositions was recorded for Repentless, and the opening title track was penned in his honor. “The first song is called Repentles’ and that one’s pretty much … I call it the Hannemanthem! I wrote that for Jeff,” King noted. “Oh, dude, it’s fast as fuck. You don’t know what the fuck’s coming!”

Below, watch a short clip announcing the album.

1 comment