Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin’s new album The High Country

on May 27, 2015, 1:45pm

The High Country is the new album from Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin. But it’s not any ol’ full-length — for the 16-year indie pop vets, it’s the record they’ve “been building up to their entire career” and one that, according to a press release, finally “captures the power and energy” of their live show.

“We’ve always cranked our amps up in practice and at shows, but we always kept it off our records,” says guitarist/vocalist Phil Dickey in a statement. “This time we wanted to go beyond our mid-tempo tendencies and make something really satisfying.” The album was recorded with the lineup of Dickey, guitarist/vocalist Will Knauer, and bassist Tom Hembree, one of the band’s co-founders who left after 2005’s Broom LP but returned to “stir things up in the best way possible and demand we play louder and faster.”

It’s hard not to be pleased with both the sheer ferocity and infectiousness of the Fly By Wire follow-up. The 11-track effort, which was recorded in Chris Walla’s Hall of Justice studio with Superchunk and Garbage engineer Beau Sorenson, features deep hooks (“Line on You”), fun and scruffy riffage (“Step Brother City”), crunchy choruses and awesome Mr. Rogers’ Neighborhood references (“Trevor Forever”), and even vulnerable, late-night ballads (“Madeline”). Listen to the entire record below and hear it for yourself.

The High Country officially hits shelves on June 2nd through Polyvinyl Records. Pre-orders can be made here.

The High Country Tracklist:
01. Line on You
02. Step Brother City
03. Goal Mind
04. Full Possession
05. Madeline
06. What I Won
07. Trevor Forever
08. Foreign Future
09. Song Will
10. Magnet’s New Summer ‘Do
11. Total Meltdown


1 comment