Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Swans announce expanded reissue of debut album, Filth

on May 11, 2015, 11:10am

Last year, Swans launched their vinyl archival campaign by reissuing their debut album, Filth. Now, they’re re-releasing Filth on CD in a new three-disc package.

The newly expanded set is due out May 26th via Young God Records (Mute outside of North America). Disc one features the original 1983 record augmented with a six-song live set recorded at New York City’s iconic The Kitchen sometime between 1982 and 1983. Disc two contains the band’s 1991 compilation Body to Body, Job to Job, presented here in its 2000 expanded form with the inclusion of a nine-minute long live version of “Raping a Slave” recorded in Berlin in 1984. The final CD includes the band’s self-titled 1982 debut EP, plus five songs recorded during a CBGB performance in 1982/1983 and three from a 1984 gig at London’s Heaven.

The deluxe package also features 16 panels of never-before-seen photos taken by iconic no-wave photographer Catherine Ceresole and Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo. Find the complete tracklist below.

Filth 3xCD Deluxe Reissue Tracklist:

01. Stay Here
02. Big Strong Boss
03. Blackout
04. Power For Power
05. Freak
06. Right Wrong
07. Thank You
08. Weakling
09. Gang
10. Strip/Burn (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)
11. Heatsheet (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)
12. Blackout (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)
13. Clay Man (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)
14. Stay Here (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)
15. Weakling (Live at The Kitchen 1982/1983)

CD2: Body to Body, Job to Job:
01. I’ll Cry for You
02. Red Sheet
03. Loop 33
04. Your Game
05. Seal It Over
06. Whore
07. We’ll Hang for That
08. Half Life
09. Loop 21
10. Get Out
11. Job
12. Loop 1
13. Mother, My Body Disgusts Me
14. Cop
15. Only I Can Hear, Only I Can Touch
16. Thug
17. Raping a Slave (Live in Berlin 1984)

CD3: Swans EP and Live Recordings:
01. Laugh
02. Speak
03. Take Advantage
04. Sensitive Skin
05. Living Arms (Live at CBGB 1982/1983)
06. Howling Red Sheet (Live at CBGB 1982/1983)
07. Big Strong Boss (Live at CBGB 1982/1983)
08. Clay Man (Live at CBGB 1982/1983)
09. We’ll Hang for That (Live at CBGB 1982/1983)
10. This is Mine (Live at Heaven 1984)
11. Why Hide (Live at Heaven 1984)
12. I Crawled (Live at Heaven 1984)

Below, listen to the Filth album track “Power For Power”.