New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

The Strokes’ Albert Hammond Jr. announces new solo album, premieres “Born Slippy” — listen

on May 12, 2015, 10:00am

On July 31st, The Strokes guitarist Albert Hammond Jr. will release a new solo album entitled, Momentary Masters. The 10-track effort follows his 2008 LP ¿Cómo Te Llama? and 2013 AHJ EP. As opposed to his previous releases, which were put out through Julian Casablancas’ own Cult Records, the new album will be issued by Vagrant Records. That’s the album artwork above.

Produced by longtime Strokes collaborator Gus Oberg, Momentary Masters also sees Hammond enlisting a handful of musicians for the recording sessions, including guitarists Mon Khmer’s Hammarsing Kharhmar and Bleachers’ Mikey Hart, bassist Jordan Brooks, and drummer Jeremy Gustin. (This is contrast to last release AHJ, which featured Hammond on nearly all of the instruments.)

(Read: Albert Hammond Jr. Revisits Guided By Voices’ Alien Lanes)

Our first preview of the LP comes with “Born Slippy”, a jaunty slice of indie rock lined with quivering guitars and Hammond’s longing croon. Listen in below.

Momentary Masters Tracklist:
01. Born Slippy
02. Power Hungry
03. Caught By My Shadow
04. Coming to Getcha
05. Losing Touch
06. Don’t Think Twice
07. Razors Edge
08. Touché
09. Drunched In Crumbs
10. Side Boob

1 comment