New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Ducktails premiere dreamy new song “Surreal Exposure” — listen

on June 08, 2015, 4:05pm

On July 24th, Real Estate guitarist Matt Mondanile will return with St. Catherine, his new album as Ducktails. Due out through Domino, the 11-track effort follows 2013’s The Flower Lane LP and Wish Hotel EP. It was produced by Rob Schnapf (Elliott Smith, FIDLAR) and counts Julia Holter, James Ferraro, Chris Votek, and Andrew Tholl as guest collaborators.

While previous offering “Headbanging in the Mirror” recalled the likes of Kurt Vile and Spandau Ballet, the summery stillness of new cut “Surreal Exposure” sounds like it was pulled right out of Real Estate’s repertoire. This is hardly a bad thing, considering the band’s last record, 2014’s Atlas, was such a hazy gem. Listen in below.

In support of the album, Ducktails will be touring Europe and North America this summer.

St. Catherine Tracklist:
01. The Disney Afternoon
02. Headbanging in the Mirror
03. Into the Sky
04. Heaven’s Room
05. St. Catherine
06. The Laughing Woman
07. Surreal Exposure
08. Church
09. Medieval
10. Krumme Lanke
11. Reprise

No comments