New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

HAERTS premiere new song “Animal”, cover Jeff Buckley’s “Everybody Here Wants You” — listen

on June 24, 2015, 9:45am

HAERTS released their self-titled debut album in October, but already they’re back with fresh material. The New York synthpop outfit’s shared two new tracks in “Animal” and a cover of Jeff Buckley’s “Everybody Here Wants You”.

“Animal” is highlighted by a more aggressive energy from HAERTS, unlike anything else found on their first LP. According to the band, it was recorded during the same studio sessions, but ended up not making the final tracklist. “The music of ‘Animal’ was inspired by a short video clip we saw at a movie theater,” keyboardist Benny Gebert said in a press release. “The clip showed an underwater scene of sea creatures moving around each other in some sort of crazy dance. During the writing and production process, the song took on a life of its own, but we always felt that there was something animalistic about it and the title is still referring to that initial image.”

Meanwhile, their idea for the poignant Buckley cover came while brainstorming new tunes. “We were in the studio working on new HAERTS material when we started listening to it and, after one listen, the words and melody were instantly stuck in our heads,” frontwoman Nini Fabi explained, adding, “I think sometimes someone else’s material can express exactly what you’re feeling at a certain time — better than you yourself could — and that happened with this song, and that’s why we covered it.”

Listen to both below.

1 comment