New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Lauryn Hill covers Nina Simone’s “Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair” — listen

on June 23, 2015, 3:05pm

Photo by David Brendan Hall

On June 26th, the new Nina Simone documentary What Happened, Miss Simone? will hit Netflix. To coincide with the film, RCA Records will release a new tribute album titled Nina Revisited on July 10th featuring covers by Lauryn Hill, Common, Mary J. BligeUsher, and Gregory Porter, among many others.

Already we’ve heard Hill’s bewitching take on Simone’s version of “Feeling Good”; now, she’s unveiled her ravishing rendition of “Black is the Color of My True Love’s Hair”. Additionally, Usher has shared his reworking of the blues legend’s “My Baby Just Cares for Me”. Listen to both below.

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone Tracklist:
01. Lisa Simone – “Nobody’s Fault but Mine (Intro)”
02. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Feeling Good”
03. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “I’ve Got Life” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
04. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Ne Me Quitte Pas” – Ms. Lauryn Hill
05. Jazmine Sullivan “Baltimore”
06. Grace – “Love Me or Leave Me”
07. Usher – “My Baby Just Cares For Me”
08. Mary J. Blige – “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”
09. Gregory Porter – “Sinnerman”
10. Common & Lalah Hathaway – “YG&B”
11. Alice Smith – “I Put A Spell On You”
12. Lisa Simone – “I Want A Little Sugar In My Bowl”
13. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair”
14. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “Wild Is The Wind”
15. Ms. Lauryn Hill – “African Mailman”
16. Nina Simone – “I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free”

No comments