Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Quelle Chris shares intriguing new song “I Asked God” — listen

on June 10, 2015, 11:30am

Photo by Jeremy Deputat

Detroit’s Quelle Chris has been redefining the socially conscious rapper since he started out in 2011. His thought-provoking lyrics are constantly being challenged by his banging beats and unique flow. He’s also kept a prolific output, constantly releasing new singles and mixes, including his breakthrough 2Dirt4TV mixtape which has gone on to become a series within itself. Now, he’s prepping to release the third installment, Innocent Country (2Dirt4TV3), on July 10th via Mello Music Group. As a taste of what’s to come, Chris has shared his latest single “I Asked God”.

“Often we turn to something or someone else,” Chris tells Consequence of Sound. “Asking, hoping and waiting for change. Be thankful for what’s around you, seen and unseen. Yet, never forget the power you hold within yourself.”

Throughout the song, Chris carries on a conversation with God, asking existential questions. When he asks God what to do, God tells him to get money; when he asks him the meaning of life, God says he doesn’t know. It’s a spiritual push and pull, made all the more climactic by an infectious piano loop beat by producer Chris Keys.

Pre-order the album here.

Innocent Country (2Dirt4TV3) Artwork: 


Innocent Country (2Dirt4TV3) Tracklist:
01. Freedom & Fear
02. Where the Wild Things Roam
03. We Want It Alive (feat. Fresh Daily and Cavalier)
04. Well Running Deep
05. Madness in the Oasis
06. The Ones to Watch
07. Nothing Moves
08. Murphy’s Law feat. Denmark Vessey
09. Drugfest TooThousandToo (feat. The Fiends)
10. The Plan feat. Denmark Vessey
11. The Mirror (feat. Big Sen)
12. I Asked God

No comments