Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Florence and the Machine’s new album How Big How Blue How Beautiful

on June 02, 2015, 10:00am

This week, Florence and the Machine return with their third studio album, How Big How Blue How Beautiful, through Island/Republic Records. It’s also streaming below via Spotify.

The follow-up to 2011’s Ceremonials was written over the course of two years in London and Los Angeles alongside producer Markus Dravs (Arcade Fire, Coldplay, Björk). It features contributions from Goldfrapp’s Will Gregory, Paul Epworth, Kid Harpoon, and John Hill.

Compared to the UK outfit’s previous releases, the new album “comes from a quieter place, one that is less grand and more vulnerable,” explains frontwoman Florence Welch. It was written during a period of “down time” after being on the road for many months. “Without the structure of touring, you have to face your own chaos,” she says of the eye-opening experience.

“I was playing gigs nonstop since I was 21. When I was left to my own devices, I realized I was fucking everything up. I was in and out of a relationship, in and out of drinking too much. It was like constantly picking yourself up and then dropping yourself, picking yourself up and dropping yourself. And that was exhausting.” While fans may peg the LP as a “breakup record,” Welch says it’s more about “being honest” and “trying to understand myself.”

Order the album here.

How Big How Blue How Beautiful Tracklist:
01. Ship to Wreck
02. What Kind of Man
03. How Big How Blue How Beautiful
04. Queen of Peace
05. Various Storms & Saints
06. Delilah
07. Long & Lost
08. Caught
09. Third Eye
10. St Jude
11. Mother

No comments