Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Refused’s first album in 17 years, Freedom

on June 23, 2015, 1:00pm

Hardcore punk band Refused will release their new album, Freedom, on June 30th via Epitaph Records. In anticipation, it’s streaming in full at Pandora.

The 10-track effort serves as the long-awaited sequel to 1998’s The Shape of Punk to Come, making it the band’s first album in 17 years. The band was joined in the studio by producer Nick Launay (Arcade Fire, Kate Bush), with additional contributions from Shellback (Taylor Swift, Britney Spears). News of the album came on the heels of the band’s current summer.

(Read: Refused’s David Sandström and Dennis Lyxzén: The Changing Shape of Punk)

“It’s not a reunion anymore,” frontman Dennis Lyxzén explains of the album. “This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.” Part of the inspiration for Freedom came from the band’s own legacy.

“Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up,” drummer David Sandström adds. “Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.”

Pre-orders are ongoing. Watch music video for the album’s opening track, “Elektra”, below.

Freedom Tracklist:
01. Elektra
02. Old Friends / New War
03. Dawkins Christ
04. Françafrique
05. Thought Is Blood
06. War on the Palaces
07. Destroy the Man
08. 366
09. Servants of Death
10. Useless Europeans