Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

FIDLAR premieres rip-roaring new version of “West Coast” — listen

on July 14, 2015, 2:37pm

Photo by Debi Del Grande

FIDLAR is set to return with its sophomore album, Too, this September. The follow-up to 2013’s impressive self-titled LP features 12 new garage punk jams. Recorded in Nashville over the course of just two weeks, it also marks the first time the band’s worked with a producer, enlisting the help of veteran Jay Joyce.

“We could have made record number one again… but instead we decided to challenge ourselves and admit that we don’t know everything,” FIDLAR guitarist and lead vocalist Zac Carper notes in a press release. “I didn’t want to make a standard rock record. The goal for this album was to think outside the box and I think Jay really helped us do that.”

Our latest preview of Too comes with a new version of “West Coast”, which was premiered on Annie Mac’s BBC Radio 1 program this afternoon. The original rendition dates back to the band’s early 2012 demo EP, Shit We Recorded In Our Bedroom. Much like the previous cut “40oz On Repeat”, the party anthem doles out hefty helpings of both undeniable hooks and rip-roaring gusto. Listen in below.

Update — Wednesday, 10:15 a.m: Watch its debauchery-filled music video.

Too arrives on September 4th through Wichita/Mom + Pop. In support, the LA natives will tour the US this fall.

Too Tracklist:
01. 40oz On Repeat
02. Punks
03. West Coast
04. Why Generation
05. Sober
06. Leave Me Alone
07. Drone
08. Overdose
09. Hey Johnny
10. Stupid Decisions
11. Bad Medicine
12. Bad Habits

No comments