Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

The Libertines premiere studio version of “Gunga Din” and video — watch

on July 02, 2015, 2:38pm

Last night, The Libertines officially announced Anthems for Doomed Youth, their first album in 11 years. Less than 24 hours after the big news, Pete Doherty & co. are back with the reunion LP’s lead single “Gunga Din”, which takes its name from Rudyard Kipling’s eponymous 19th century poem.

The Londoners previously debuted the new song live at The Netherlands’ Best Kept Secret Music Festival, but now its final studio version has been revealed by BBC Radio 1’s Annie Mac. Backed by dub-like grooves and even the occasional crunchy surf rock riff, Doherty and Carl Barât find their chemistry again, effortlessly trading lines as though the band had never gone on a hiatus. Watch the single’s corresponding vd

Anthems For Doomed Youth, the follow-up to 2004’s The Libertines, arrives on September 4th via Harvest Records/Virgin EMI.

Anthems For Doomed Youth Tracklist:
01. Barbarians
02. Gunga Din
03. Fame and Fortune
04. Anthem for Doomed Youth
05. Heart of the Matter
06. Belly of the Beast
07. Iceman
08. You’re My Waterloo
09. Fury of Chonburi
10. The Milkman’s Horse
11. Glasgow Coma Scale Blues
12. Dead for Love
13. Love on the Dole *
14. Bucket Shop *
15. Lust of the Libertines *
16. 7 Deadly Sins *

* = bonus tracks