Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Josh Homme reveals new Eagles of Death Metal song “Silverlake” — listen

on September 17, 2015, 1:26pm

Josh Homme and Jesse Hughes have resurrected their Eagles of Death Metal project after seven years, with plans to release new album Zipper Down on October 2nd. Following initial singles “Complexity” and “Got a Woman”, the collaborative duo’s broken off “Silverlake”, an amusing rocker that also knows how to shred.

“I am from Silverlake and therefore I don’t give a damn!” they sing, taking a fun jab at Los Angeles’ Silverlake neighborhood, a haven for all things hipster and nonchalantly ~cool~. Listen in below.

In addition to the new track, EoDM also sat down for an interview with Rolling Stone in which they jokingly refer to their new album as a “response to terrorism” and talk about the band’s sense of humor. Check out excerpts below.

On whether Zipper Down is the band’s response to terrorism:

Homme: Yeah. We put out a record and human rights are better, the world feels better, people make more money, there’s less anger, people are more respectful to women and to homosexuals, and they’re generally nicer each other, they’re kinder to each other, and that’s why we really felt like it was time to let the healing begin.

On the band’s creative process and how they don’t take themselves too seriously:

Homme: Well, can I start this one, Boots? Would you like me to? OK, I’ll do the first part. Normally, I rip off the first three Rolling Stones albums, but this time I went from the greatest Rolling Stones albums of all time and technically ended up doing the greatest album ever made, because I stole them. Other than the blatant theft, which really has been going on for years, I think it’s the fact that he and I have so much fun together. We take music seriously because we’re lovers of music, and the music that we like, we really are into and we’re fans of it. And we want to be a great band, so we put that effort into it.

I just think at the end of the day we don’t really take ourselves that serious, you know? That just means that tons of desire and passion for music goes into making it, but we also realize that the best possible scenario for fans of music is when you’re kind of like, “Don’t worry about it. It’s cool, man.”

ZIPPER DOWN Tracklist:
01. Complexity
02. Silverlake (K.S.O.F.M.)
03. Got a Woman
04. I Love You All The Time
05. Oh Girl
06. Got the Power
07. Skin Tight Boogie
08. Got a Woman (slight return)
09. The Deuce
10. Save a Prayer (Duran Duran cover)
11. The Reverend

No comments