Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Duran Duran’s new album Paper Gods

on September 08, 2015, 1:05pm

Duran Duran will release their new album, Paper Gods, on September 11th via Warner Bros. Records. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below.

The New Wave veterans’ first LP since 2010’s All You Need Is Now marks their 14th to date. Recorded in London, it boasts a star-studded cast of collaborators, including former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante, Janelle Monáe, Nile Rodgers, Mark Ronson, Kiesza, Mew’s Jonas Bjerre, and — wait for it — Lindsay Lohan.

According to a press release, the guest-heavy record aims to “capture the duality and sense of conflict at the heart of Duran Duran’s music.” Bassist John Taylor elaborated, saying, “It really goes back to that strange early Duran mix: the hard-edged pop, coexisting with this dark, weird, experimental side.” It’s preceded by the songs “Pressure Off”, “You Kill Me With Silence”, “What Are the Chances?”, “Last Night in the City”, and the title track.

In his review of the album, David Sackllah writes, “On Paper Gods, the band sticks with a sound that isn’t markedly different from where they were operating 35 years ago, but they also work with a group of guests (some more surprising than others) that makes them as relevant in today’s pop landscape as at any point in the past two decades. Part of this can be attributed to the likes of Ronson and Pharrell, producers who have been molding pop in the past five years with a heavy ‘80s dance-rock influence, with songs like “Uptown Funk” and “Blurred Lines” dominating the radio. Duran Duran doesn’t have to reach very far to find today’s pop hits, and their results are better for it.”

Pre-orders are ongoing.

Paper Gods Tracklist:
01. Paper Gods (feat. Mr Hudson)
02. Last Night in the City (feat. Kiesza)
03. You Kill Me with Silence
04. Pressure Off (feat. Janelle Monáe and Nile Rodgers)
05. Face for Today
06. Danceophobia
07. What Are the Chances?
08. Sunset Garage
09. Change the Skyline (feat. Jonas Bjerre)
10. Butterfly Girl
11. Only in Dreams
12. The Universe Alone