Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: New Order’s new album Music Complete

on September 25, 2015, 12:20pm

Today, New Order return with their first album in 10 years, Music Complete, via new label home Mute Records. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available via Apple Music.

Spanning 11 tracks, Music Complete marks the legendary new wave outfit’s 10th and the follow-up to 2005’s Waiting For The Sirens’ Call. It also marks the return of band member Gillian Gilbert, who hasn’t recorded with New Order since 2001’s Get Ready. (Gilbert left shortly after that record’s release, but returned 10 years later in 2011 after her children had grown.)

The new album was produced nearly entirely by New Order themselves (Gilbert, Bernard Sumner, Stephen Morris, Tom Chapman and Phil Cunningham). The exceptions being Tom Rowlands’ work on tracks “Singularity” and “Unlearn This Hatred”, plus additional production by Stuart Price on “Superheated”. It is preceded by the singles “Restless” and “Plastic”.

In his Top Rated review of the album, Editor-in-Chief Michael Roffman writes, “”Restless”, ‘Singularity”, and “Plastic” might be the strongest three-prong opener of any album released this year — or even in the last half decade. Histrionic statement? Possibly, but try sitting down after that 18-minute blow to the feet. Sumner goes into full-on Rockymode and proves it’s not over ’til it’s over for this band of veterans, laying to waste the majority of the acclaimed younger electronic artists tinkering with rust-covered beats in their bedrooms. The tracks are energetic and pummeling, but they’re also subtly fueled by serious issues.”

Order the album here.

Music Complete Tracklist:
01. Restless
02. Singularity
03. Plastic
04. Tutti Frutti
05. People On The High Line
06. Stray Dog
07. Academic
08. Nothing But A Fool
09. Unlearn This Hatred
10. The Game
11. Superheated

No comments