Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Youth Lagoon’s new album Savage Hills Ballroom

on September 17, 2015, 9:15am

Trevor Powers, aka Youth Lagoon, returns with his new album, Savage Hills Ballroom, on September 25th through Fat Possum. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below via

One of the year’s most anticipated LPs marks the dream pop songwriter’s third LP following 2013’s Wondrous Bughouse. It spans 10 tracks and Powers grappling with the death of a friend. To work on the effort, Powers moved from his Boise, Idaho hometown to Bristol, UK, where he recorded alongside producer and engineer Ali Chant (Perfume Genius). The full-length was preceded by the songs “The Knower”“Highway Patrol Stun Gun”, and “Rotten Human”.

In a recent interview with FADER, Powers explained how losing his friend affected the overall aesthetic of the LP:

“I think it was more of a re-focus. Going into [my last album] Wondrous Bughouse was this amazing thing for me, because before that I approached music in an elementary sort of way. I really got into the experimentation and just making all sorts of sounds that I had never really messed around with: synthesizers, percussion, all sorts of stuff. I always see myself as someone who experiments with sounds first, all sorts of sounds, and then I’ll try to incorporate it into a song and have those songs make sense. After my close friend passed away, it brought me down to earth a little bit. I made this album very purposeful and intentional because there was so much stuff that was on my mind and that I felt like I had to say.”

Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Savage Hills Ballroom Tracklist:
01. Officer Telephone
02. Highway Patrol Stun Gun
03. The Knower
04. No One Can Tell
05. Doll’s Estate
06. Rotten Human
07. Kerry
08. Again
09. Free Me
10. X-Ray

No comments