Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Grimes premieres new song “Flesh Without Blood” and video — watch

on October 26, 2015, 3:35pm

Last week, Grimes announced that her follow-up to 2012’s Visions would be titled Art Angels. Along with the new album details, including the “bro-art” artwork designed by Claire Boucher herself, she noted that a new video for the first single would surface soon.

Today, she makes good on her promise, unveiling the glittering pop number “Flesh Without Blood” and its accompanying clip, which sees Grimes donning a number of fantastical, stylish outfits. One moment she’s a winged cowgirl throwing an epic sleepover party; the next she’s a bloodied Marie Antoinette-like character dancing about a basketball court.

Following “Flesh Without Blood”, there’s an additional piece of new music included at the end of the visual, a slower, more introspective cut called “Life in the Vivid Dream”. Watch the full video below.

Art Angels, one of the year’s most anticipated LPs, is due out digitally next week (!) on Friday, November 6th via 4AD. The album was written and recorded entirely by Grimes at her home studio in Los Angeles. As an official statement notes, it features “more live instrumentation than ever before,” including piano, guitar, and violin all played by Grimes. It also includes a collaboration with Janelle Monáe.

In support of her new material, Grimes will be on the road for the next couple of months on her Rhinestone Cowgirls tour.

Art Angels Tracklist:
01. laughing and not being normal
02. California
03. SCREAM ft. Aristophanes
04. Flesh without Blood
05. Belly of the Beat
06. Kill V. Maim
07. Artangels
08. Easily
09. Pin
10. Realiti^
11. World Princess part II
12. Venus Fly (feat. Janelle Monáe)
13. Life in the Vivid Dream
14. Butterfly
15. Realiti (Demo)*

^ = CD and digital only
* = CD only