New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Animal Collective announce new album, Painting With, share “FloriDada” — listen

on November 30, 2015, 10:40am

Over the holiday weekend, Animal Collective surprised travelers and fans alike when they premiered their new album over the speakers at Baltimore Washington International Airport. Now, the band has announced that you’ll be able to hear the LP, entitled Painting With, through your own headphones beginning February 19th via Domino.

AnCo’s 11th album overall, Painting With follows 2012’s Centipede HzWhile that album saw band member Deakin rejoin the lineup after skipping out on 2009’s Merriweather Post Pavilion, he’s once again absent on Painting With. In place of Deakin, Avery Tare, Panda Bear, and Geologist were joined by the likes of John Cale and Colin Stetson.

The trio started working on the album earlier this year with the goal of creating “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” according to Avey Tare. The result is 12 tracks concerned with and inspired by “art (Cubism, Dadaism, and the distorted way those artists viewed the world) and the human experience, and the meeting of both.”

As a preview of this fine art-minded sound, they’ve released the first single, “FloriDada”. The track is a bouncy, squishy conglomeration of feet shuffling joy with call-and-response lyrics delivered in speedy succession. There’s also a brief sample of the surf classic “Wipeout”. Check it out below

Painting With will be released on CD and LP with three different covers, each featuring a painting of one of Animal Collective’s members done by Brian DeGraw. Limited edition deluxe versions of the vinyl will also come packaged with a 12-inch turntable slipmat featuring a zoetropic animation that reveals itself when spun under a strobe light, a set of stickers that say “Painting With” in various languages, and a bonus 7-inch single with two exclusive non-album tracks that will ship out at a later date.

Find all the artwork and deluxe packages beneath the tracklist below; pre-orders are ongoing via the Animal Collective and Domino with your choice of cover, while iTunes pre-orders come with an instagrat download of “FloriDada”.

Painting With Tracklist:
01. FloriDada
02. Hocus Pocus
03. Vertical
04. Lying in the Grass
05. The Burglars
06. Natural Selection
07. Bagels in Kiev
08. On Delay
09. Spilling Guts
10. Summing the Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling

Avery Tare artwork:

aveypwcover Animal Collective announce new album, Painting With, share FloriDada    listenpwfronta Animal Collective announce new album, Painting With, share FloriDada    listen

Panda Bear artwork:

pandapwcover Animal Collective announce new album, Painting With, share FloriDada    listenpwbackp.jpg-1

Geologist artwork:

geologistpwcover Animal Collective announce new album, Painting With, share FloriDada    listenpwbackg.jpg-1

No comments