Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Jeff Lynne’s ELO’s new album Alone in the Universe

on November 05, 2015, 1:40pm

On November 13th, Jeff Lynne will reconvene Electric Light Orchestra for his first album in 14 years, Alone in the Universe. Due out through Columbia Records, it’s streaming in advance below courtesy of

The 10-track effort, released under the name Jeff Lynne’s ELO, follows 2001’s Zoom. Recorded over the course of 18 months at his own home studio, it finds the English singer-songwriter, composer, arranger, and multi-instrumentalist expanding on his pop maestro chops. Its preceded by the singles “When I Was a Boy”, “When the Night Comes”, and “One Step at a Time”.

In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, Lynne explained the backstory behind lead single “When I Was a Boy”:

“My interest in music grabbed me when I was a boy,” he says. “I used to go under my bed listening to the crystal set [radio.] There weren’t many good stations back then. You only got about an hour of pop music and that was on a Saturday night. That’s what led to the song, which was one of the quickest I’ve ever written lyrically and musically.”

Pre-order the album here.

Alone in the Universe Tracklist:
01. When I Was a Boy
02. Love and Rain
03. Dirty to the Bone
04. When the Night Comes
05. The Sun Will Shine on You
06. Ain’t It a Drag
07. All My Life
08. I’m Leaving You
09. One Step at a Time
10. Alone in the Universe
11. Fault Line *
12. Blue *

* = bonus tracks

No comments