Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Baroness unveil cathartic new song “Morningstar” — listen

on December 03, 2015, 1:15pm

Later this month, Baroness return with new album Purple. The 10-track effort is the follow-up to Yellow & Green and represents the sludge metal outfit’s first LP since its horrifying bus accident in 2012.

“The band suffered a gigantic bruise,” vocalist/guitarist John Baizley commented on fateful incident in a statement. “It was an injury that prevented us from operating in a normal way for quite some time. Hopefully, this record is the springboard that helps us get away from all that.”

Baroness’ Pete Adams echoed similar sentiments of hope, “We didn’t want to make a mellow, sad, dark thing. We needed to be up-tempo. We needed to be melodic, and it also needed to be aggressive. In all of that, I think we were able to get out everything we felt, all of the emotion involved, everything from being angry to wanting to continue to push forward.”

That particular catharsis, as well as noticeable melodiousness, can be felt on the group’s latest offering, the fiery opening track “Morningstar”. Listen in below.

Purple hits streets on December 18th through Abraxan Hymns. For more, check out “Chlorine & Wine” and “Shock Me”. Also, watch our recent interview with Baizley for more about the album and songwriting process.

Purple Tracklist:
01. Morningstar
02. Shock Me
03. Try to Disappear
04. Kerosene
05. Fugue
06. Chlorine & Wine
07. The Iron Bell
08. Desperation Burns
09. If I Have to Wake Up (Would You Stop the Rain)
10. Crossroads of Infinity

No comments