Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

DIIV release warm new single “Under the Sun” — listen

on December 14, 2015, 11:55am

Photo​ ​by Pete Vandenbelt

What we’ve heard so far from DIIV’s forthcoming sophomore record, Is the Is Are, has largely hinted at a heavy follow-up to 2012’s OshinFrom the brooding stride of “Mire (Grant’s Song)” to the thick haze of “Bent (Roi’s Song)”, the new material has come with a shoegazing weight to it. The exception has been the pretty hazy of “Dopamine”, which carried a brightness that is turned up a few lumens on DIIV’s latest single, “Under the Sun”.

A gleaming guitar keeps pace with the jogging bass line throughout the track to give it an uplifting vibe not present on earlier songs. Even frontman Zachary Cole Smith’s voice carries itself with more warmth, despite the fact that his lyrics are no cheerier as he sings, “Yes, I’ll come back to you/ Then I’ll ask what have we done/ Under the sun.” Still, there’s a top-down groove to the whole thing that makes it a pleasant fit for this (terrifyingly) unseasonably warm weather we’re experiencing, and may be the strongest taste of Is the Is Are we’ve heard yet.

Check it out below.

Is the Is Are, which features a collaboration with Sky Ferreira, is set for a February 5th release via Captured Tracks.

Is the Is Are Tracklist:
01. Out of Mind
02. Under the Sun
03. Bent (Roi’s Song)
04. Dopamine
05. Blue Boredom (feat. Sky Ferreira)
06. Valentine
07. Yr Not Far
08. Take Your Time
09. Is The Is Are
10. Mire (Grant’s Song)
11. Incarnate Devil
12. (Fuck)
13. Healthy Moon
14. Loose Ends
15. (Napa)
16. Dust
17. Waste of Breath

No comments