Entertainment News
The No. 1 Source For Breaking Music, Film, and TV Headlines

Day Wave announces Hard to Read EP, share “Gone” — listen

on January 18, 2016, 2:15pm

Jackson Phillips is doing pretty darn well for a guy who’s released just one EP and a handful of singles. The Oakland dream pop artist aka Day Wave followed up his debut EP, Headcase, with the “Come Home Now” b/w “You Are Who You Are” 7-inch, and the breezy tunes have already landed him coveted spots on lineups for Governors Ball and Shaky Knees. He’ll look to further prove worthy of the buzz with the impending release of his sophomore EP, Hard to Read, due out March 4th via Grand Jury.

Phillips handled every aspect of Hard to Read, from mixing to mastering, recording directly to tape; still, the result is five tracks more vibrant than many big-budget productions. Take lead single “Gone”, a mournful yet gorgeous ride of synth and guitars. There’s a steadiness in the bass line that recalls that feeling that beats inside your chest when you’re forced to get in your car and drive away. There’s no destination in mind — you’re not even really leaving anything behind — you just have to move forward somehow. Day Wave’s rising and falling synths pulse like warm, late summer evening air swirling into your windows, allowing you to wallow in that sadness while simultaneously comforting you. Take a listen below.

Hard to Read will be available digitally on March 4th (pre-orders are ongoing). A physical release combining both Headcase and Hard to Read will be available for pre-order soon. Find the track listings and album artwork for both releases below.

Hard to Read Album Art:

unnamed (14)

Hard to Read EP Tracklist:
01. Deadbeat Girl
02. Gone
03. Hard to Read
04. Stuck
05. You

Headcase/Hard to Read Album Art:

unnamed (15)

Headcase/Hard to Read Tracklist:
01. Nothing at All
02. Total Zombie
03. Drag
04. We’ll Try but We Don’t Fit In
05. Headcase
06. Deadbeat Girl
07. Gone
08. Hard to Read
09. Stuck
10. You

No comments