Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: DIIV’s new album Is the Is Are

on January 29, 2016, 12:00pm

On February 5th, DIIV will release their new album, Is the Is Are, through Captured Tracks. In anticipation, the LP is streaming in full below courtesy of the Guardian.

The LP spans 17 tracks, including a collaboration with Sky Ferreira titled “Blue Boredom”. It follows 2012’s Oshin and serves as the group’s sophomore record.

In a message posted to DIIV’s Tumblr page, frontman Zachary Cole Smith explained the album’s odd title:

“A lot of people have asked about the reasoning behind having such a nonsensical title. So I guess I should try and explain it. Basically, I wanted something slightly disorienting, that felt homemade and imperfect, easy to criticize, something that made the reader feel like they weren’t grasping my intent, like I was being misunderstood, because I’ve felt so misunderstood throughout the entirety of DIIV’s existence. I wanted a title that wasn’t taken from a lyric on the album, or from the title of the album’s lead single, like they usually are. I didn’t want to name our second album ‘2’. I always feel like, if there’s an opportunity to be creative, there’s no reason not to use it. I wanted the title to come straight from the album art. I was really inspired by Concrete Poetry from the 60′s, poetry that took a visual form and was as much visual art as it was poetry. I loved Tom Philips “A Humument”. I wanted the title to come from a poem. Another random inspiration was from the internet – I got a lot of laughs from these two specific internet memes. One was ‘Has anyone really been far as decided to use even go want to do look more like?‘, and another was ‘I accidentally 93MB of rar files’. I felt like language had a specific type of power when it was misused. I wanted something that felt profound, but upon closer inspection was meaningless.”

Is the Is Are is preceded by a number of teaser tracks, including “Dopamine”“Bent (Roi’s Song)”, “Under the Sun”, and “Mire (Grant’s Song)”.

Pre-order a copy of the album here.

Is the Is Are Tracklist:
01. Out of Mind
02. Under the Sun
03. Bent (Roi’s Song)
04. Dopamine
05. Blue Boredom (feat. Sky Ferreira)
06. Valentine
07. Yr Not Far
08. Take Your Time
09. Is the Is Are
10. Mire (Grant’s Song)
11. Incarnate Devil
12. (Fuck)
13. Healthy Moon
14. Loose Ends
15. (Napa)
16. Dust
17. Waste of Breath

1 comment