Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Dr. Dog’s new version of The Psychedelic Swamp

on January 28, 2016, 11:05am

On February 5th, Dr. Dog will release The Psychedelic Swamp, a revamped version of their unreleased debut LP. In anticipation, the album is streaming in full below via

Due out through ANTI-, The Psychedelic Swamp features updated versions of tracks recorded some 15 years ago. Those songs were put out on the cassette-only in 2001, but never received a wide commercial release until now. In addition, the forthcoming LP contains newly crafted tracks inspired by older ones (see: “Bring My Baby Back”).

According to bassist/songwriter/vocalist Toby Leaman, coming back to The Psychedelic Swamp was always in the cards. “The concept behind it is that we were always going to redo it and make it super-accessible pop, which was built into the concept of Psychedelic Swamp,” he told Charleston City Paper.

For the new album, the Philly psych rock outfit not only revisited old songs, but also called on the original lineup behind them; in particular, Doug O’Donnell has returned to the band for the first time since 2004. “There’s an instrumental [song] that’s more in the Beach Boys realm — oohs and ahs and Hawaiian-style guitar and block harmony and stuff,” Leaman spoke of O’Donnell’s songwriting contributions.

“And there’s another one of his called ‘Golden Hind,’ which is this lyrically absurd tune, but it ended up sounding great. We ended up liking it so much it’s the first song on the record, which is weird because Doug’s singing it and he’s never been on any of our records — no one knows his voice.”

Pre-order the album here.

The Psychedelic Swamp Tracklist:
01. Golden Hind
02. Dead Record Player
03. Swampadelic Pop
04. Bring My Baby Back
05. Holes In My Back
06. Fire On My Back
07. Swamp Descent
08. Engineer Says
09. In Love
10. (swamp inflammation)
11. Badvertise
12. Good Grief
13. Swamp Is On

No comments