Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Sia’s new album This Is Acting

on January 29, 2016, 10:15am

Today, Sia returns with her new album, This Is Acting, via RCA Records. Spotify users can stream it below. It’s also available through Apple Music.

The follow-up to 2014’s stellar 1000 Forms of Fear is composed of 12 tracks Sia had originally written for other pop artists such as Adele, Beyoncé, and Rihanna. One cut called “Reaper” features co-writing and co-production contributions from none other than Kanye West, who’d previously worked with Sia on “Wolves”. This Is Acting serves as her seventh full-length to date.

“I’m calling it This Is Acting because they are songs I was writing for other people, so I didn’t go in thinking ‘this is something I would say,’” the Aussie pop star told NME earlier this year. “It’s more like play-acting. It’s fun.”

In her review of the album, Janine Schaults writes,

“Unlike her brashly honest and personal 2014 breakthrough 1000 Forms of Fear, which yielded the glitter-and-guts Grammy-nominated ‘Chandelier’, This Is Acting partially concedes to emotional detachment. The title itself is a nod to Sia’s exercise of crawling into the skin of the artist she’s writing for as a hired hand. This pretending, or acting, allows the song to resonate with the pop darling in question while nabbing Sia a fat paycheck. Her eerie ability to tap into the essence of Beyoncé or Katy Perry makes the game of guessing which star she was shooting for super easy.”

This Is Acting is preceded by a handful of singles including “Alive”“Birds Set Free”“One Million Bullets”, and “Reaper”.

Purchase the album here.

This Is Acting Tracklist:
01. Bird Set Free
02. Alive
03. One Million Bullets
04. Move Your Body
05. Unstoppable
06. Cheap Thrills
07. Reaper
08. House on Fire
09. Footprints
10. Sweet Design
11. Broken Glass
12. Space Between

1 comment