New Music
The Best New Music in Rock, Alternative, Hip-Hop, and More
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

TEEN reveal colorful new song “Tokyo” — listen

on January 06, 2016, 12:56pm

Photo by Hanna Whitaker

Brooklyn pop weirdos TEEN are prepping their third studio album, Love Yes, due out on February 19th. The new Carpark Records release follows 2014’s well-received The Way and Color and is previewed this week with “Tokyo”.

Vibrant and colored with synths equal parts loopy and hooky, it’s the kind of song that’ll leave you dazed but immediately craving another spin. Singer Teeny Lieberson talked to about the track’s inspiration:

“‘Tokyo’ is the story of a man who loses interest in his wife and fantasizes about leaving her. His loss of interest is not merely a reflection of his feelings, but rather his unwillingness to grow old and the challenge age puts to his ego. His experience illuminates our societal obsession with youth culture and our ingrained fear of aging and loss of power. We value women only in the virgin ideal, often because they are thought to be conquerable and and a vessel for validating dominance. We would prefer to live in the fantasy of young skin rather than face our growth and relinquish control to our inevitable death.”

Listen in below.

For more of Love Yes, check out “All About Us”.

Love Yes Tracklist:
01. Tokyo
02. All About Us
03. Gone for Good
04. Another Man’s Woman
05. Example
06. Animal
07. Free Time
08. Superhuman
09. Please
10. Noise Shift
11. Love Yes
12. Push

No comments