Album Streams
Listen to Full Streams of the Newest Albums
Expertly Curated by the CoS Staff

Stream: Flatbush Zombies’ debut album 3001: A Laced Odyssey

on March 11, 2016, 12:25pm

Today, Flatbush Zombies release their full-length debut, 3001: A Laced Odyssey, via Glorious Dead Recordings. Spotify users can stream it in full below. It’s also available over at Apple Music.

3001: A Laced Odyssey marks the Brooklyn natives’ first proper album. It follows their two mixtapes, 2012’s D.R.U.G.S. and 2013’s Better Off Dead, as well collaborations with the likes of Joey Bada$$ (“Did U Ever Think”) and Trash Talk (“97.92”). Produced entirely by Flatbush Zombies’ own Erick Elliott, aka The Architect, the 12-track effort is anchored by singles like “This Is It” and “Bounce”, which features a left-field sample of Bibio’s “The Palm of Your Wave”.

In her review of the album, Alejandra Ramirez writes,

“…the group still thrives on druggy narratives filled with cringe-worthy laughs and absurd references. But they have grown up. Their immaturity and brusqueness is flavored with a new level of social consciousness and introspection. In their epic 13-minute closing track ‘Your Favorite Rap Song’, Juice waxes third-eye philosophical (‘You could reach into your pocket, while I reach into my mind/ Clarity is so divine’) and Meech delves into unexpected spiritual territory (‘Suffering would lead to the discovery of something deep/ Peace, mind, body, soul, the holy trinity’). While their high times absurdity was once their near-exclusive modus operandi, Flatbush Zombies are making strides in growing up … a little. As usual, Juice says it best: ‘Same drugs, same names, different places.'”

Purchase a copy of the new LP here.

3001: A Laced Odyssey Tracklist:
01. The Odyssey
02. Bounce
03. R.I.P.C.D.
04. A Spike Lee Joint
05. Fly Away
06. Ascension
07. Smoke Break (Interlude)
08. Trade-Off
09. Good Grief
10. New Phone, Who Dis?
11. This Is It
12. Your Favorite Rap Song