Exclusive Premieres
The Hottest Songs, Music Videos, Posters and Trailers
That You Heard and Saw Here First

Stream: Holy Wave’s new album Freaks Of Nurture

on March 04, 2016, 9:50am

Photo by Alison Scarpulla

With the second coming of shoegaze now in full swing, so many bands are being described as “dreamy” that you’d think critics are literally falling asleep at the wheel. Austin five-piece Holy Wave is certainly dreamy in a sense, but theirs is the kind of dream that’s more vivid than blurry, more present than passing. On their third studio album, Freaks Of Nurture, the band combines elements of psych, Nuggets-era garage pop, and surf rock before slathering the whole package in the requisite coat of reverb. It’s the kind of dream that would be easy to get lost in, but there’s always a warm guitar riff to guide you out of your reverie, like a ray of sunlight shining on closed eyelids.

Freaks Of Nurture will be released via The Reverberation Appreciation Society on March 11th. Recorded at Cacophony Recorders in Austin, the album is Holy Wave’s most sonically expansive to date. “We wanted to get heavier and louder, experiment with more songwriting styles and traditional pop elements,” the band explains. “We wanted to freely express different influences regardless of their relevance to each other.”

The album is also notable for its procession of A-level puns. Besides the title, we’ve got gems like “California Took My Bobby Away” and “Sir Isaac Nukem”. As if these slackers weren’t easy enough to love already.

Listen in to a stream of Freaks Of Nurture below.

Freaks Of Nurture album artwork:

freaks of nurture

Freaks Of Nurture Tracklist:
01. She Put A Seed In My Ear
02. Wendy Go Round
03. Western Playland
04. You Should Lie
05. California Took My Bobby Away
06. Air Wolf
07. Our Pigs
08. Sir Isaac Nukem
09. Magic Landing
10. Minstrel’s Gallop